If you suffer from any of a variety of diseases that
are aggravated by gluten sensitivities, you will want to learn all
you can about where this nutrient is found. The following
"restricted-gluten diet" will help you to steer clear of these
Use only those foods for which the ingredients are
completely known. Read labels!
Beverages Allowed: Carbonated
beverages, decaffeinated coffee that does not contain cereal
products, buttermilk, skim milk, non-citrus fruit juices, tea,
vodka, wines, and brandy.
Avoid: Coffee substitutes, coffee,
commercial chocolate milk, malted milk, Postum, Ovaltine, ale,
beer, and all other alcoholic beverages.
Breads Allowed: Bread products made from
arrowroot, corn, gluten-free wheat starch flours, rice, or soybean,
and pure buckwheat flour.
Avoid: All bread products made from
wheat, rye, oats, or barley. All commercial products and
mixes, buckwheat flour mixes, and bread crumbs.
Cereal Allowed: Hot cereals:
cornmeals, cream of rice, grits. Ready-to-eat cereals:
corn and rice products made with allowed ingredients.
Avoid: All others, including Rice
Krispies and Corn flakes.
Meats / Substitutes Allowed: Beef,
fish, lamb, pork, poultry, veal, and liver; pure all-meat
cold cuts, frankfurters, and sausage; cheese, eggs, and peanut
butter; all prepared without the addition of wheat, rye, oats,
or barley (2 or more servings daily).
Avoid: Commercially prepared entrees;
processed cheese and cheese products containing gluten
stabilizers; processed meats with fillers; meat
alternatives or protein substitutes that may have gluten
Potatoes / Substitutes Allowed: White and
sweet potatoes; grits, hominy, and rice; low-gluten
products (as desired).
Avoid: Barley, macaroni, noodles, and
spaghetti; any prepared with wheat, rye, or oats.
Soups Allowed: Clear broth.
Homemade cream soups (thickened with allowed flours) and vegetable
soups made with allowed ingredients.
Avoid: Any containing wheat, rye,
oats, or barley; canned soups containing prohibited
Sweets Allowed: Pure candies, honey,
jams, jellies, marshmallows, sugars, syrups, molasses, and corn
Avoid: Any containing wheat, rye,
oats, or barley.
Condiments Allowed: Salt, pepper,
sugar, herbs, and spices.
Desserts Allowed: Homemade custard,
gelatin, cornstarch, or tapioca puddings; ice cream and
sherbet without gluten stabilizers; water ice. Desserts
prepared with allowed flours and starches.
Avoid: Desserts prepared from wheat,
rye, oats, or barley; all commercial desserts and mixes;
ice cream and sherbet with cereal stabilizers.
Fats Allowed: Butter, cream, margarine,
fats, real mayonnaise; commercial salad dressings without
gluten stabilizers, shortenings, vegetable oil, and lard.
Avoid: Commercial salad dressings
with gluten stabilizers.
Vegetables Allowed: All (as desired,
include dark green or yellow daily).
Vegetable Juices to Avoid: Any
prepared with wheat, rye, oats, or barley, such as cream sauces
and bread crumbs.
Miscellaneous Allowed: Baking powder,
baking soda, chocolate, cocoa, coconut, gravies (made with allowed
flours and starches), nuts, olives, vinegar, mustard, catsup, and
Avoid: Any foods containing wheat,
rye, oats, or barley.
Related products available in the NaturoDoc Store:
These products are helpful in assisting the
digestion of gluten-containing foods. The first
consideration, however, is identification and removal of
aggravating sources. These are excellent tools to maintain